gifts & giving

1 Mar

In a delightful coincidence (that’s been helpful for our sanity), Ally and I started dating our fabulous men right around the same time. It’s been great because we’ve gone through a lot of the same challenges that new relationships bring together, and we’ve been able to act as a sounding board for each other through all the crazy.

My dude and I celebrate the anniversary of our first date (well, really, our first date was 9 years ago, but that’s another story), which was two years ago next Monday. We’re not usually the gift-giving type, but I found two absolutely perfect gifts and I just can’t help myself.

Nan Lawson has been all over the blogosphere lately, and I found her via Melanie at you are my fave. She has an adorable etsy shop full of original drawings, and she also creates custom portraits based on a few photos and your interests.  We’re building a wall of prints and posters, so I plan on just hanging it and not saying a thing until he notices. (The image above isn’t ours – it should be done by the weekend.. I’ll post it soon!)

The second gift is from my new company-crush, Warby Parker. They’re like Tom’s shoes for your eyes – for every (completely affordable and incredibly cool) pair of glasses you order, the Warby Parker team donates a pair to someone who really needs them. My handsome man has been putting off replacing his long-lost pair (they’re somewhere in the middle of the country or on the floor of a touring van), and for his safety and mine, I’ve decided it’s time.

2 Responses to “gifts & giving”

  1. Risti March 1, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    I find giving gifts to my sweetie to be such a difficult thing. But you really scored a couple of gems. Good work!

  2. Melanie March 4, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    I’m so happy with our Nan Lawson print. I know yours will turn out perfect.

Leave a Reply

